Linux Certifications

المشرف: ooo

Linux Certifications

مشاركةبواسطة ooo في الأحد يونيو 06, 2010 7:11 am

The increased use of Linux in production systems within various industries and the corporate realm has increased demand for Linux experienced professionals. Several vendors offer certifications for their Linux products and a vendor neutral Linux certification option is available as well. Four Linux certification programs include those from Red Hat, Novell, CompTIA, and the Linux Professional Institute. Red Hat offers two certifications, Red Hat Certified Technician (RHCT) and Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE). As noted by Red Hat, the “RHCE and RHCT are performance-based tests that measure actual competency on live systems.” The difference between RHCT and RHCE is that RHCE is for core systems competency and RHCE is also but adds networking and security. Red Hat offers a series of official technical level training courses for candidates. The RHCT and RHCE exams both require passing scores on the same two topics Troubleshooting & System Maintenance and Installation & Configuration. The RHCE exam is longer for each topic and requires a higher score on Installation & Configuration. Novell offers the Novell Certified Linux Professional (CLP) program oriented on Linux administration. Training and testing for the CLP is completed on SUSE Linux. The CLP certification is a prerequisite for the more advanced Certified Linux Engineer (CLE) program oriented on Novell Nterprise Linux Services. Additionally Novell offers the Certified Linux Engineer 9 (CLE9) based on advanced SUSE Linux Enterprise Server administration skills. For all programs Novell offers training options and a roadmap to reach certification through coursework and testing. The examinations for certification are each termed a Practicum. Novell notes, “Novell Practicum is a scenario based exam where students apply the knowledge they have learned to solve real-life problems--showing they not only know what to do, but that they can actually do it as well.” Currently Novell also offers the SUSE Certified Linux Professional (SCLP) program but will be fazing that out. CompTIA is a trade association with worldwide presence offering vendor neutral certifications including the Linux+. The certification is presented as entry-level but does validate six-to-twelve months of practical Linux experience. CompTIA explains that the “exam covers approximately 90 percent of the problems that technicians, help desk staff, and system administrators routinely encounter today with commercial Linux applications”. CompTIA further notes that Linux+ “gives an individual a recognized industry credential that offers proof of knowledge and expertise in Linux technologies.” The single exam required has just over ninety questions and must be completed within ninety minutes. The Linux Professional Institute (LPI) offers vendor and Linux distribution neutral certification. LPI Certification (LPIC) is provided for three levels: Junior Level Administration (LPIC-1), Intermediate Level Administration (LPIC-2), and Senior Level Administration (LPIC-3). Each certification requires a passing score on two exams. For LPIC-1 the exams cover basic system administration skills. For LPIC-2 the candidate must have passed LPIC-1 and the exams cover advanced system administration skills. The LPIC-3 is under development. The LPI bases it’s certification program around four values: relevance, quality, neutrality, and support. As a non-profit organization, the LPI stresses that their certification program is vendor and distribution neutral. More information about Red Hat is available via online. More information about Novell is available via online. More information about CompTIA is available via online. More information about the Linux Professional Institute is available via online.
مشاركات: 192
اشترك في: الاثنين مايو 17, 2010 10:33 am

العودة إلى Certification Exam

الموجودون الآن

المستخدمون المتصفحون لهذا المنتدى: لا يوجد أعضاء مسجلين متصلين و 1 زائر